I Am From…

I am from the whistling kettle
from Bounce and dryer lint
I am from the fresh air
lingering after mom’s evening walk
I am from the day lilies
The mock orange
whose long gone limbs I remember
as if they were my own.

I’m from Christmas oranges and striking eyes
from Arndt and Doetzel
I’m from rednecks and cowboys
and from dreamers escaping small town confinement.

I’m from Franklin and Lennon
and Jesus loves the little children
I’m from cards while camping
I’m from the big city and crossing the sea
Biscuits and garden carrots
From dad’s immobile thumb
bonding over The Price is Right
Family gatherings before the deaths
forever in my heart
memories are all that remain.

Rayna Anderson
November 22, 2013

Let me know your thoughts here:

