I am

I hurt / because the world is cruel.
I love / those who deserve it.
I hate / inequality.
I fear / not standing up for myself.
I hope / for a better tomorrow.
I cry / because it’s healthy.
I feel / small in the universe.
I talk / but never really say what I mean.
I listen / and dissect everything.
I break / at others’ pain.
I work / for a bright future.
I remember / those who have left me here.
I hold / memories in my heart.
I hide / feelings deep inside.
I pray / not completely expecting change.
I drive / my life forward.
I read / between the lines.
I learn / from every experience.
I know / not nearly enough.
I sing / the song that’s in my heart.
I want / to have a new world.
I think / of a more meaningful life.
I am / who I am.
I am / me, plain, simple.

Rayna Anderson
2013

Let me know your thoughts here:

